5 Steps to Apply for your Lake Tahoe, Nevada Marriage License | Destination Wedding Planner
Are you heading to the picturesque adventure locale of Lake Tahoe, Nevada to say, "I DO" and unsure of how to make your upcoming nuptials official? Follow the simple 5 steps below from a destination Wedding Planner to obtain your Lake Tahoe, Nevada Marriage License.
1. Complete the Online Application
A couple may complete the online application in advance of appearing in person in order to expedite the process of the in person application. A valid approved Nevada officiant must be listed to perform the wedding
Click here for the link to the online application (Washoe County)
Click here for the link tot the online application (Washoe County - Incline Village Office)
If you have trouble with this link, click here for the "self service" online portal
2. Gather the necessary documents
Valid Government Issued Photo ID (Drivers License, Passport, ID card)
Social Security Number (Card not needed)
If divorced, month, year and location of last divorce (decree not needed)
Form of Payment for $85 Fee (cash, credit card, money order or cashiers check accepted)
A valid approved Nevada officiant must be listed to perform the wedding
3. Appear in person, TOGETHER
Both applicants must appear in person, together to obtain the marriage license with the necessary documents listed above. Click here to make the appointment in advance to reserve your spot to obtain your license.
4. When can I Apply?
You can apply up to 1 year in advance of your marriage, however your officiant must be registered with the state or Nevada before you may complete the online application and appear in person.
4. Submit the Original Certificate to the Recorder's Office
"It is Nevada State law that within 10 days after you have had a marriage ceremony performed, that the minister must deliver the original marriage certificate to the Washoe County Recorder's Office for official recording."
5. Additional Requirements & FAQ
Applicants must be at least 18 years of age.
No residency requirements.
Only registered officiants with the state of Nevada are approved to perform marriages
One witness to the wedding is required
Questions? Click here for Frequently Asked Questions
ClerkAdmin@washoecounty.us OR email@example.com (Manager: Donny LaQue)
Are you already married, and need a certified copy of your marriage license for proof of marriage (to change your last name, file jointly, etc.)? Click here!
All information gathered from Washoecounty.gov